1 Comment

My body is having a power failure…

CHRONIC FATIGUE SYNDROME
I’m having a very difficult time with this symptom…especially ever since it has gotten hot outside. I feel like hardened concrete is attached to my body.

Fatigue is not the same thing as tiredness. Tiredness happens to everyone  it is an expected feeling after certain activities or at the end of the day. Usually you know why you are tired and a good night’s sleep solves the problem.

Fatigue is a daily lack of energy; unusual or excessive whole-body tiredness not relieved by sleep. It can be acute (lasting a month or less) or chronic (lasting from one to six months or longer). Fatigue can prevent a person from functioning normally and affects a person’s quality of life.

 According to the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, 80% of people with MS have fatigue. MS-related fatigue tends to get worse as the day goes on, is often aggravated by heat and humidity and comes on more easily and suddenly than normal fatigue.

I had some blood work done, my blood work showed mitochondrial dysfunction….mitochondria supply the cells in our bodies with energy. So, mitochondria dysfunction is indicated in Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. Which explains why I feel the way I do.

One comment on “My body is having a power failure…

  1. I understand exactly how you are feeling. I’ve had M.E./CFS for 10 years now, and although I am a lot better than I was and am back at work again I am still struck down with horrendous fatigue. People struggle to understand what fatigue actually is unless they’ve experienced it. I’ve been branded tired and lazy, but it’s not something that is easy to go through, it’s such a battle and a struggle even to hold my arm up to clean my teeth some times. The heat definitely doesn’t help with the fatigue and it makes my insomnia worse too, so it’s a vicious cycle.
    I hope things settle down for you soon. x
    http://silverparchment.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

