3 Comments

Still not happy

I have been pretty upset about having to have a cane. Having the cane says to me I’m getting worse; although my physical therapist says it’s just for safety.
Over the last 2 1/2 years it’s been doctors visits, my pcp, neurologist, urologist, geneticist, physical therapist, therapists and psychiatrist. All kinds of test optic neuritis, blood work, REF, EKG , xrays, cat scans, several MRI, echo cardiogram, etc.
I have several medications I take just to manage this disease. I give myself an injection every night before I go to bed. All this just to decrease the amount of relapses I have. It will not cure it. I have had 2 surgeries and along with MS I have developed a rare symptom affecting my heart. You can probably surmise I don’t have much of a social life and the relationship stuff is non-existent.
I wanted to do physical theraphy because I didn’t want a cane or a walker. Which takes me back to December 8, 2004. If the doctors had paid attention to what I was complaining about instead of spinning their wheels, if the treatment had of been started earlier than 7 years I am sure I would not be having the issues I’m having. I feel as though my medical team prior to 2011 failed me. I am very distraught that they didn’t hear me and acknowledge the auto immune markers from the spinal tap.

3 comments on “Still not happy

  1. Hello, I’ve decided to start a blog on my MS journey. I ran across this post about a cane. I just started using a cane when I’m having bad days. I have collected canes and & walking sticks for several years, so now that I have to use one, I look at it as get to show off my collection one at a time. There are a lot of very unique and pretty ones out there. So this makes it easier for me mentally to use a cane… Blessings, Mrs1SgtHill

    • Greetings mrs1, Happy New Year;I’ve changed my point of view of having the cane. I will be doing a post about it soon. I’ve found that on most days I need it because my balance is off quite a bit. Also, it has become very useful when I am tired. I look forward to reading about your journey. It will be interesting to find out what differences or even similarities we share.
      Peace and Blessings

      • I too only use my cane for balance on my bad days (fatigue/mental fog). I love purple so one of my most used canes is a beautiful purple wood. I get so many compliments on it, actually it seems to help take the focus away from this issues I have….Namaste

Leave a Reply

